Wisconsin State Baseball League

About the Wisconsin State League

Wisconsin State Baseball LeagueThe Wisconsin State League, also known as the Wisconsin State Baseball League, was established in 1970 and is considered by many as one of the top semi-pro baseball leagues in the mid-west, if not the entire country.

The WSL features many of the regions top college, former college, future and former professional baseball players.

All WSL franchises are non-profit organizations, organized by volunteers in their area communities. The teams compete in a 20-30 game regular season schedule starting in late May and finishing in late July or early August. Many of the league's teams compete in other leagues as well. WSL teams will play anywhere from 40 - 65 games during the summer. 

After the 2014 season was completed, the Eau Claire Cavaliers announced they would be taking an indefinite leave of absence from league play, joining the Manitowoc Bandits who did so following the 2012 season. Both organizations retain their league membership while they are not competiting on the field.

In December of 2014, the WSL approved the absorption of three new teams from the Langsdorf League of Southeastern Wisconsin: the Northern Illinois Legends, West Allis Nationals and West Bend 7 Up, giving the league a total of eight active franchises, plus two inactive franchises in Eau Claire and Manitowoc. Kenosha and Sheboygan, already WSL members, were the only other franchises actively in the Langsdorf League.